Aussie Millions

The Aussie Millions is an Australian poker championship tournament. Ever since its introduction in 1998, the Aussie Millions has grown into one of the richest poker tournaments in the world. In fact, with prize pools in excess of AU$7,000,000, this Australian tournament is currently the richest in the Southern Hemisphere. Keep reading to learn about the history of the Aussie Millions and how it became one of the most popular poker events in Australia.

History of Aussie Millions

The Aussie Millions tournament first began as the Crown Australian Poker Championship. The name comes from the fact that the Crown Casino, in Melbourne, Australia, has hosted the championship tournament ever since its introduction in 1998. The Crown Casino began hosting poker tournaments in 1997. During this time, poker was becoming increasingly popular, especially because of the success of the World Series of Poker. The first Crown Australian Poker Championship was held in July 1998. To get a tournament seat, the 74 entrants of the first Crown Australian Poker Championship had to pay a buy-in of AU$1,000. The total prize pool during the first championship amounted to AU$74,000.

Like the first event, the following two Crown Australian Poker Championship events were also held mid-way through the year. It was not until 2001 that the event was moved to January, which is the schedule that the Aussie Millions follows to this date. The 2001 Crown Australian Poker Championship had a AU$5,000 buy-in for the Main Event. Forty players competed for their share of the $200,000 prize pool. At this time, a majority of the international players who had joined the event were from New Zealand.

It was not until 2003 that the championship tournament would gain recognition as a truly international tournament. The Crown Australian Poker Championship had attracted a number of international players. A number of European poker players had occupied the final table during the 2003 event. All in all, there were 122 entrants in 2003, building up a prize pool of AU$1.2 million. In 2003 and 2004, poker was attracting players, fans, and spectators from all over the world. Some of the notable poker tournaments that gained popularity during this time included the World Poker Tour, the World Series of Poker, and the European Poker Tour. The Crown Australian Poker Championship would also begin to reach new heights in the following years.

In 2004, the Aussie Millions tournament had 133 entrants with a prize pool of AU$1.33 million.  One year later, the number of players at the Main Event nearly doubled, reaching a total of 263 entrants. The AU$10,000 buy-in for the Main Event meant that the 2005 Aussie Millions prize pool would set a new record. With a AU$2,630,000 prize pool, the 2005 Crown Aussie Millions had generated the Southern Hemisphere's largest prize pool ever. More than half of the players who competed in the event were from other countries, such as Holland, USA, Norway, Lebanon, Italy, and Canada.

The Aussie Millions tournament continued to attract more players in the following years. A total of 418 players joined in the 2006 event, building up a prize pool worth AU$4.18 million. It was also during this year that the Aussie Millions tournament attracted a number of well-known and respected poker players in the world, including Mike Sexton, Scott Fischman, Antonio Esfandiari, and Joe Haschem. The 2006 event was televised on Fox Sports Net (FSN).

The following year, 2007, marked the second year that the FSN would broadcast the Aussie Millions Main Event. More records were broken this year as the event attracted a record-breaking 747 players. The popular professional poker player, Gus Hansen, won the 2007 event, taking home AU$1.5 million of the AU$7.47 million prize pool. The 2008 Aussie Millions tournament had an even bigger prize pool, with 780 players contributing to the AU$7.8 million prize pool.

Results of the Aussie Millions Main Events

Here is a list of the results of the Aussie Millions Main Events throughout the years:
* 1998 – Alex Horowitz beats Ken Eastwood for a prize of AU$25,900
* 1999 – Milo Nadalin beats Adam Haman for a prize of AU$38,150
* 2000 – Leo Boxell beats Gerry Fitt for a prize of AU$65,225
* 2001 – Sam Korman beats Eric Sclavos for a prize of AU$53,025
* 2002 – John Maver beats John Homann for a prize of AU$150,000
* 2003 – Peter Costa beats Leo Boxell for a prize of AU$394,870
* 2004 – Tony Bloom beats Jesse Jones for a prize of AU$426,500
* 2005 – Jamil Dia beats Mike Simkin for a prize of AU$1,000,000
* 2006 – Lee Nelson beats Robert Neary for a prize of AU$1,295,800
* 2007 – Gus Hansen beats Jimmy Fricke for a prize of AU$1,500,000
* 2008 – Alexander Kostritsyn beats Erik Seidel for a prize of AU$1,650,000

Qualifying for the Aussie Millions Main Event

Throughout the years, the Aussie Millions tournament has attracted numerous players from all walks of life, including both amateur and professional players. The 2009 Crown Aussie Millions tournament features a guaranteed championship prize of AU$2 million. Whether you are a professional player or an amateur, there are a few ways that you can qualify to play in the No Limits Hold 'Em Aussie Millions Main Event. The first way to qualify for the Main Event is to register and pay the buy-in fee, which will be AU$10,500. The online registration for those who want to join the 2009 Aussie Millions Main Event begins on the first of November 2008.

Another way to get a seat at the 2009 Aussie Millions is to win your seat. You can win your seat in one of two ways: through satellite tournaments or through free-roll tournaments. Satellite tournaments are poker tournaments that usually have smaller buy-ins than the actual main event buy-in. Players can join satellite tournaments through the Internet at actual establishments where Aussie Millions satellite tournaments are held. Free-roll tournaments, on the other hand, are free tournaments that people can join through the Internet.

With Crown Casino's Super Poker Week: 3 Phase Satellite Program, you can win your way to the Aussie Millions Main Event in three steps. All three steps follow a multi-table format. The first step features a AU$65 buy-in, where one in five can win entry into phase 2. The second phase features a AU$250 satellite and, again, one in five wins entry into phase 3. Finally, the last phase features a AU$1,150 satellite for a chance to win an Aussie Millions Main Event seat worth AU$10,500. Be sure to take note of all of the rules and regulations for qualifying and joining in the Aussie Millions Main Event.

The Aussie Millions has continued to attract more players, fans, and spectators over the years. The guaranteed AU$2 million prize is bound to bring in an even large number of players in the 2009 event. In fact, the Crown Aussie Millions website states that more than 800 players are expected to join in the 2009 Main Even. Aside from the main event, numerous other tournaments will be held. With its continuing growth and development, it is no wonder that the Aussie Millions is one of the largest poker tournaments in the world.